page wide

Patricia Kopatchinskaja I

Patricia Kopatchinskaja loves festivals: "I especially like the fact that the audience is so enthusiastic". We have therefore organized a mini-festival for our Artist in Residence - three concert evenings in which she plays the great violin works of Classical Modernism. We will begin with the violin concertos of Stravinsky and Prokofiev: their music has many common sources, but the temperaments of the two composers were very different. While Stravinsky's music is primarily rhythmic, Prokofiev's melodies often flow freely, supported by original harmonies. Patricia Kopatchinskaja, on the other hand, seems to unite all temperaments in her playing: passionate, committed, with a lot of feeling and, above all, the greatest virtuosity and musicality, she captivates her audience.
The program is complemented by the Sonata in C major for two violins, which Prokofiev wrote for the two violinists Samuel Dushkin and Robert Soetens. Patricia Kopatchinskaja dedicates the concert to them.


Igor Strawinski
Konzert in Es für Kammerorchester "Dumbarton Oaks"
Violinkonzert in D

Sergei Prokofjew
Sonate für zwei Violinen C-Dur
Violinkonzert Nr. 2 g-Moll


Jonathan Stockhammer

Dresdner Philharmonie

Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Charlotte Thiele